Richmond Home

Safe Zone 20th Anniversary

Spring 2016 serves as the 20th Anniversary of the Safe Zone Program at the University of Richmond.  For 20 years Safe Zone has severed as the basis for educating our campus community on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer identtiiies, issues, and concerns.  This year we celebrate a long history of amazing work from students, faculty, staff, and alumni who all have committed to creating a safer, more welcoming, and more equitable community for everyone.

LGBTQ Campus Life at UR Through the Years (Safe Zone Lunch & CCE Brown Bag)
Friday, January 29, 12:30-1:25 p.m., Tyler Haynes Commons 305
This January, Common Ground is partnering with the Center for Civic Engagement for our Safe Zone Lunch to celebrate the 20th Anniversary of the Safe Zone Program at UR with a special alumni panel discussing LGBTQ life at the University of Richmond over the years. Come hear how LGBTQ life on campus has evolved and shaped the university from alumni panelists Jonathan Zur, ’03, Beth Marschak, W’72, and Chaz Barracks, ‘12.

20th Anniversary Celebration
Friday, January 29, 4-6 p.m., Robins Pavilion - Jepson Alumni Center
Join the UR community for a celebration of 20 years of Safe Zone.  Featuring special guests from Richmond and the UR community, the celebration provides us a time to collectively thank the founders of the Safe Zone program, celebrate the progress we have collectively made for LGBTQ communities, and discuss what the next 20 years of Safe Zone looks like.

Safe Zone & LGBTQ UR History Audio Project
The Office of Common Ground in collaboration with UR Communications is collecting stories from past and present faculty, staff, and students about their experiences as LGBTQ and allied people within the UR community. We will be collecting stories at the 20th Anniversary Celebration and throughout the Spring 2016 semester.  If you are interested in participating, please contact Ted Lewis (

Special Thanks to UR's Safe Zone Founders

Dr. Del McWhorter

Dr. Rafael De Sa

Mr. Steve Wilborn

Mr. Bob Rogers

Ms. Kelly Maxwell